The Auto-Sleeper Motorhome Owners Forum (ASOF)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

new (to me) van security Autosleeper Fairford

4 posters

Go down

new (to me) van security Autosleeper Fairford Empty new (to me) van security Autosleeper Fairford

Post by Nangie 6th August 2019, 11:21

Hello!
I am sure this has been asked before but I cannot find the info I need in a format I can understand! So hoping some kind person here has the time to either explain/discuss with me or point me in the right direction!
I have just become the very proud owner of a 2016 Autosleeper Fairford. It already has a tracker fitted which I know I can take over the subscription on, Globaltelemetrics Smartrack. (tho they are being a little slow in getting back to me and previous owner was contacted to cancel his subs yesterday, so it is probably not covered at the moment!) However -I am totally new to all this but from what I can gather I probably need to do more than just the tracker to protect my lovely van. So I have at least a few questions please!
1.As the exisiting tracker was installed 3 1/2 years ago it is out of warranty, should I even consider just carrying on the subs, would I be better starting from scratch with the either the same or different device?
2. The tracker obviously does not prevent theft, tho it is a monitored 24/7 system and I do know it will alert the company if the vehicle is towed or somehow moves without ignition, or if battery is disconnected. The van has the usual alarm and immobiliser. Do I need to consider some sort of steering wheel lock, wheel locking devices, if so which?
3. I will sometimes have dogs with me, so there will be occasions when I need to leave them in the van while I shop/shower etc. Is there a way I can set the alarm on the van with them moving around inside?